Expanded Animal Welfare Committee recruits new experts

, , Leave a comment


In October 2019, the Animal Welfare Committee (AWC), formerly known as the Farm Animal Welfare Committee, expanded its remit to provide expert and detailed research and advice to Ministers in England, Scotland and Wales, on companion animals and wild animals kept by people, as well as farmed animals.

To support this new expanded remit, four new experts joined the Committee from 1 January 2020:

  • Dr Pen Rashbass – farm animal welfare
  • Dr Romain Pizzi – welfare of wild animals kept by people
  • Professor Sarah Wolfensohn – welfare of wild animals kept by people
  • Dr James Yeates – welfare of companion animals

The AWC also works closely with the European Forum of Animal Welfare Councils (EuroFAWC).

Published 16 January 2020

Revision History:


Leave a Reply