Joint statement on Djibouti talks between Somalia and Somaliland leaders

, , Leave a comment

The below statement was signed by United Kingdom, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Ireland, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, United States, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, Ethiopia, United Nations, Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and the African Union Mission in Somalia (AMISOM).

Somalia’s international partners welcome the dialogue between President Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed ‘Farmajo’ and President Muse Bihi Abdi, hosted by President Ismail Omar Guelleh of Djibouti, and attended by Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali. We commend the regional support, and engagement that led to the talks.

We welcome the meeting as an important step in strengthening communication and fostering understanding, and encourage the technical committee named by the principals to deliver tangible benefits for their people.

Revision History:


Leave a Reply