Second meeting of the Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee

, , Leave a comment

The Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee met for the second time on 12 June by video conference.

The meeting was co-chaired by the UK Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP, and EU Commission Vice President, Maroš Šefčovič, and attended by delegations which included Member State representatives and the First Minister and deputy First Minister of the Northern Ireland Executive.

The Committee undertook a stocktake of Specialised Committee meetings which have taken place since the first Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee meeting, and was updated on implementation of the Withdrawal Agreement more generally, on which both sides have made good progress. The UK reiterated our commitment to protecting the Belfast (Good Friday) Agreement in all respects, and to upholding our obligations under the Northern Ireland Protocol. The UK emphasised our commitment to EU citizens in the UK and ensuring that they and UK nationals in the EU have their rights under the Withdrawal Agreement protected.

The Committee took one Decision – to amend ten minor errors and omissions in the Withdrawal Agreement, related to citizens’ rights and financial provisions, required for legal certainty.

The UK took the opportunity provided by this second meeting to emphasise the UK’s decision not to extend the transition period. There will be no further opportunities to extend the transition period. The UK will regain its economic and political independence on 1 January 2021 at the end of the transition period and uphold a key demand of the British people.

Revision History:


Leave a Reply